You were injured in a drunk driving accident. The police arrested the drunk driver, and he’s facing jail time. But, your civil case didn’t go so well. The driver was uninsured and has no assets.
You’ve used your own insurance to pay part of your medical bills, but you still owe tens of thousands of dollars and you are unable to work. You are wondering if there are any options left to help.
The Georgia Criminal Justice Coordinating Council administers the Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program. This program provides financial assistance to victims of violent crimes and can help cover medical bills, psychological counseling, lost income, crime scene clean-up and funeral expenses.
Georgia DUI accident victims may qualify for assistance if all of the following are true:
- The DUI victim died or suffered a serious physical injury during the accident.
- The victim did not cause the Georgia drunk driving crash.
- The accident was reported to the police within 72 hours of the crash.
- The victim has tried all other options for compensation, including this own car insurance and health insurance and the impaired driver’s insurance policy.
- The application is made within one year after the accident, unless there is a good reason to wait longer to apply. In this case, application must be made within three years of the crash.
Coverage available to Georgia DUI victims may include:
- Up to $15,000 or medical and dental expenses
- Up to $3,000 for mental health services
- Up to $3,000 for funeral and burial expenses
- Up to $10,000 for lost wages and other economic support
There is a maximum limit of $25,000 in compensation per accident victim.
To apply for benefits, call 800-547-0060 or visit the Criminal Justice Coordinating Council website at http://cjcc.ga.gov/00/channel_title/0,2094,43676881_169285446,00.html.
To learn about your rights and all your options for compensation after a Georgia DUI accident, contact our Atlanta car accident lawyers at Kaufman Law at 888-WRECK-404.